Intro

I live in a Polyandrous relationship.

On August 16th my Brother Husband and I married our Wife. Not leagally as this is not possible in Canada. Or anywhere from what I can see.

In front of 30 friends, supporters and an officiator we said our vows and exchanged rings, which we all wear on our right hand.  The rings are three interwoven silver bands.

The sun shone down on us in our backyard where we all live together. Our children watched from the deck and champagne was flowing. Two round white cakes were cut and shared among the gathering and the party went on till the wee hours of the morning.

Many of the attendees are from the local Polyamory Society and in order to avoid possible legal hassels the event was called a commitment ceremony. PResently the issue of Polyamory and multiple consenting congigal unions it before the Provincial Courts in an effort to separate us from the negative aspects of Polygamy in such areas as the religious compounds such as Bountiful in British Columbia.

We are three worldly adults in our forties with children and a home and who love each other intensely. We have chosen this life to benefit each other and our family. To share this life and its challenges together as a unit.

This blog will hopefully document the aspects of this “marriage” and the trials, tribulations and joys that come with it.

This entry was posted in Brother Husband, Children, Marriage, Polyandry, Polygamy, wedding, Wife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Intro

  1. KEMSoInLove says:

    Congratulations to the three of you on your recent celebration of love and commitment. Thank you for starting this website. My husband and I have been together for seven years and through many ups and downs created a stable and loving relationship. This fall we agreed to accept a wonderful man into our relationship and the three of us are doing so very well. I have learned and understood more about my husband through my relationship with my junior husband than I ever could have learned without him. Our family is certainly more stable now (both financially and emotionally) than we ever could have been as two. The most important and challenging aspect of the whole experience is honesty and communication. Before I ever had personal contact with my now junior husband, I went to my husband and told him that I wanted to make contact with this person (who was my best friend, but never my boyfriend in high school). It was a scary leap of trust that I made, I decided to be open and honest and tell my husband that I wanted to renew my friendship with this other man and that I realized that once I did I would likely want him in my life. My husband understood and was supportive and realized that I loved him so much that there was no need to be afraid that I would leave him. Indeed, our relationship now is stronger and more open than it had ever been before. I love these men both intensely and they both love me. These last six months have been the most empowering of my life both as a woman and as a human. My belief that honesty and open communication are the most important aspects of a relationship have been validated by this incredible ongoing experience. Clearly, to me, one can fully love and nurture a relationship with more than one person at a time if all parties are open, honest, and self aware. It takes maturity and the acceptance of the self and the other to create any stable relationship be it romantic or otherwise. I can think of no better example of the liberation of the female than a strong polyandrous relationship. All my best to the three of you! Thanks again for establishing this site!

    Sincerely,
    An American Woman In Love

  2. I don’t understand why this type of arrangement would be out lawed. First of all, it is nobody else’s business but your families. I commend you three on making the decisions to live life by your own terms.

  3. Soren says:

    Such a strong courage to post here. There are some of us who have seen this family arrangement as the ideal one.

    Just let me encourage you and I am happy for your celebration.

  4. Gail Arsenault says:

    I am envious. I have been married twice, and there are aspects of my first husband which I still miss very much (he passed away 22 years ago), while my second husband fulfills most but not all of my needs. This is not an option for us, but it is a lifestyle I would love to be a part of in my next life!

Leave a Reply

