Sacred Love

“Sacred Love”

Take off those working clothes  / Put on these high heeled shoes  / Don’t want no preacher on the TV baby  / Don’t want to hear the news  / Shut out the world behind us  / Put on your long black dress  / No one’s ever gonna find us here  / Just leave your hair in a mess

I’ve been searching long enough  / I begged the moon and the stars above  / For sacred love

I’ve been up, I’ve been down  / I’ve been lonesome, in this godless town  / You’re my religion, you’re my church  / You’re the holy grail at the end of my search  / Have I been down on my knees for long enough?  / I’ve been searching the planet to find Sacred love

The spirit moves on the water  / She takes the shape of this heavenly daughter  / She’s rising up like a river in flood  / The word got made into flesh and blood  / The sky grew dark, and the earth she shook  / Just like a prophecy in the Holy Book  / Thou shalt not covet, thou shalt not steal  / Thou shalt not doubt that this love is real

So I got down on my knees and I prayed to the skies  / When I looked up could I trust my eyes?  / All the saints and angels and the stars up above  / They all bowed down to the flower of creation  / Every man every woman  / Every race every nation  / It all comes down to this Sacred love

Don’t need no doctor, don’t need no pills  / I got a cure for the country’s ills  / Here she comes like a river in flood  / The word got made into flesh and blood  / Thou shalt not steal, thou shalt not kill  / But if you don’t love her your best friend will  / All the saints up in heaven and the stars up above  / It all comes down, it all comes down  / It all comes down to love,

Take off your working clothes  / Put on your long black dress  / And your high heeled shoes  / Just leave your hair in a mess  / I’ve been thinking ’bout religion  / I’ve been thinking ’bout the things that we believe  / I’ve been thinking ’bout the Bible  / I’ve been thinking ’bout Adam and Eve  / I’ve been thinking ’bout the garden  / I’ve been thinking ’bout the tree of knowledge, and the tree of life  / I’ve been thinking ’bout forbidden fruit /  I’ve been thinking ’bout a man and his wife  / I been thinking ’bout, thinking ’bout Sacred love, sacred love:

 – Sting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

